Thursday, June 3, 2010

Nightmare - Early Years

Artist: Nightmare
Title: Early Years
Release: 2005
Label: Hardcore Kitchen Records

Track List:
1. Black Window
2. Dick
3. Annihilation
4. Nothing
5. Euthanasia
6. Self Defence Power
7. Dark Side
8. Tumbling Down
9. Lost Anger
10. Acutuality
11. Positive Fact
12. お前 (Omae, You)
13. Keys to Mind
14. Give the Low to You
15. Annihilation
16. Find Your Way
17. Tragedy

Here we have a collection of earlier material from Nightmare. 17 tracks of fast Burning Spirits Japanese hardcore. This is a rager from start to finish.

I'd like to take a moment with this post and say that records like this one are exactly why I started this blog. Not only would this make my list of "required listening" for anyone who considers themselves a fan of hardcore punk but even with google and the myriad of websites dedicated to music and all that awesome stuff we have instant access to in 2010 it is still relatively difficult to find comprehensive information about this release in one place. That's sort of my goal here, to post gems like this and not only provide them for others to listen to, but to make sure that as much relevant information is included.

For example: it took me a good while to find the actual name of track 12 as everywhere save one website simply had it listed as "japanese title". Maybe I'm just exceptionally neurotic about that sort of stuff but I like to think I'm not the only one who likes to keep their digital music collection as neatly organized as their actual record collection.

Tracks 1-10 from "Give Notice of Nightmare.." (1990, Selfish Records)
Tracks 11-24 from "Eye of the Thrash Guerilla" compilation (1998, Selfish Records)
Tracks 15-17 from the split with Concrete Sox (1991, MCR Company)

Download: Nightmare - Early Years (LAME 3.92 V2)