Friday, April 4, 2008

My Luck - ...Is Frozen

Artist: My Luck
Title: ...Is Frozen
Release Date: 2001
Label: Youngblood Records

Track List:
1. Antarctica
2. Alone
3. Bitch Please
4. Dead
5. Caring for Nothing
6. Fingers Crossed

My Luck is a band from Houston, TX that I don't think gets the attention they deserve. Perhaps it's because in recent years they really haven't done much (that I'm aware of). Perhaps it's because guitarist Wade Allison is in Iron Age who is one of the best bands out there at the moment. Apparently their singer is obsessed with Antarctica. If you like Champion, Betrayed, or Chain of Strength then this 7" is for you. It sounds more like those bands than their recent work to me. "...Is Frozen" is long out of print, but when it was available there were a slew of colors of vinyl that you could pick it up on and you might get lucky and find one on eBay now and then. Sorry for the small album artwork picture, it's the best I could get.

Download: My Luck - ...Is Frozen (FhG 192 kpbs)

Fucked Up - Looking for Gold

Artist: Fucked Up
Title: Looking for Gold
Release Date: 2004
Label: Self Released

Track List:
1. Looking for Gold Part 1
2. Looking for Gold Part 2
3. Fate of Fates

There really isn't enough that can be said of Fucked Up. They come from Toronto way up north in Canada where the air is nice and clean. They are an absolute blast to see live. And, they do crazy shit like record 18 minute songs that still manage to be no less punk than their 2 minute songs. "Looking for Gold" is one of their longest songs (not quite as long as the more recent "Year of the Pig") and is definitely an odd record. Fucked Up released it themselves in 2004 and included not a single liner note or song title. The A side has a hidden track with lots of whistling and a drum solo. The B side "Fate of Fates" was later re-recorded for the "Hidden World" LP. Good luck ever finding a real copy of this little gem.

Download: Fucked Up - Looking for Gold (LAME 3.92 APS)

Black Flag - Damaged

Artist: Black Flag
Title: Damaged
Release Date: 1981
Label: SST Records

Track List:
1. Rise Above
2. Spray Paint (The Walls)
3. Six Pack
4. What I See
5. TV Party
6. Thirsty and Miserable
7. Police Story
8. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie
9. Depression
10. Room 13
11. Damaged II
12. No More
13. Padded Cell
14. Life of Pain
15. Damaged I

To celebrate the namesake of this blog, here is Black Flag's "Damaged". This album should really need no introduction. But for anyone who isn't aware by now, Black Flag is easily one of the most influential hardcore bands to ever exist. They got their start in Hermosa Beach, CA back in 1977. Their constant touring, especially to smaller towns, helped spread the DIY ethic that has been an essential part of punk for the last three decades. "Damaged" is Black Flag's first full length album and is the first release to have Henry Rollins on vocals. It was put out on Greg Ginn's (lead guitar) label SST Records in 1981 after being recorded only a few weeks after Rollins joined the band. For myself personally when I think of Black Flag this is the album that comes to mind as their most impressive and most important. Much of what they did after this pales in comparison to the raw energy found on "Damaged".

Download: Black Flag - Damaged (LAME 3.97 V0)

First Post

Hi, I've got some big things planned for this blog. It'll probably end up as a run of the mill music blog but hopefully I'll be able to cover some ground that others aren't. At least that's my goal. I'll be uploading releases from all sorts of punk, hardcore, emo, screamo, and crust bands from my collection.

The primary purpose of this blog is to provide as much information on each release as I can. I'm a huge nerd when it comes to organizing my music library and I will cater to people like myself. So you can expect everything I post to have complete, consistent, and clean ID3 tags.

Since I'm going to be uploading mostly punk related things here I'm not going to put a huge focus on bitrate, obviously the higher the better. But let's be honest, if it's a vinyl rip, 192 kbs isn't going to be much better than 128 kbs.

Some of what will be posted will be ripped from my own CD collection. Unfortunately I don't have a working record player as I just broke my needle about a week ago. If I ever get a USB turntable expect lots of awesome things. As for the rest of it, the sources will vary greatly, from other music blogs, stuff from bit torrent websites, or even things collected from SoulSeek. I intend on bringing the better parts of my collection available in an easy to access place and keep you from having to do hours of googling trying to find information on an album.

For future reference (if you're still reading this I'm impressed) I will probably never drone on this long again. In the future all my posts will be about what I upload. Oh, and before I forget, I will be using to host the downloads. If you know of something better send me an e-mail... rapidshit sucks.